Internet Posting Requirements for Political Subdivisions

Mailing Address of Political Subdivision:	Tel phone Number:	E-Mail Address:
202 N. Virginia Street	361-552-9793	mgrant@portlavaca.org

Position:	Elected Officers of Political Subdivision	Year Elected Officer's
		Term Expires

Mayor	Jack Whitlow	2022
District 1	Jerry Smith	2023
District 2	Tim Dent	2021
District 3	Allen Tippit	2023
District 4	Rosie Padron	2022
District 5	Jim Ward	2022
District 6	Ken Barr	2021

Date of Next Officer Election	Deadline to File Candidate Application	Location of Next Officer Election
May 01, 2021	January 13, 2021 thru February 12, 2021	202 N. Virginia Street

Candidate Eligibility Requirements

City of Port Lavaca Home Rule Charter Sec. 4.02. - Qualifications for office.

- a) In addition to the requirements of state law, at the time of election to office, the Mayor and each member of Council shall be at least twenty one (21) years of age, shall be a United States citizen and qualified voter of the State of Tex s. shall have resided in the City for not less than one (1) year immediately preceding the election filing deadline and, if elected from a district, shall have resided in the district from which elected for not less than six (6) months immediately preceding the election filing deadline.
- b) Candidates for office shall make a sworn application for a place on the ballot within the times prescribed by the Texas Election Code, and pay any filing fee established by ordinance. Applications shall designate the position sought and applications for council member shall include the district number, if applicable. It shall be the duty of the City Secretary to place the name of all qualified candidates making timely application on the official ballot. Legal proof of length of residency in the City and/or district must be presented to the City Secretary upon filing for office.

State Law reference- Age and residence requirements for city office, V.T.C.A., Election Code § 141.003.

Notice and Record of Meeting of Political Subdivision's Governing Body (If Applicable to Political Subdivision):