City Council

The City Council is the governing and lawmaking body of the City Government, and they shall have and exercise all powers granted by the City Charter, State Law, and the State Constitution. The Council also provides legislative leadership in establishing ordinances, resolutions and policies.

Our Mission

Our mission is to make Port Lavaca a desirable place to live through quality services, responsible use of public resources, and a progressive attitude toward community development. With enthusiam, integrity and vision, we will maintain a safe environment and continually improve the quality of life for all citizens.

Front row left to right: Rosie Padron, Mayor Jack Whitlow, Jan Regan
Back row left to right: Tim Dent, Jim Ward, Ken Barr & Jerry Smith


The City of Port Lavaca is a home rule charter run by the city council and the city manager.

Elected Officials

Jerry SmithCouncilman Jerry Smith
District 1
Tim DentCouncilman Tim Dent
District 2
Councilwoman Jan Regan
District 3
Rosie PadronCouncilwoman Rosie Padron
District 4
Jim WardCouncilman Jim Ward
District 5
ken barrCouncilman Ken Barr
District 6