You may be eligible to take a Driving Safety Course to have your case dismissed. You may only take one course within a 12 month period in the State of Texas to have a case dismissed.
Driving Safety Course (DSC) – By Mail or in Person.
Requesting a Driving Safety Course is an option that will keep your citation from being reported as a conviction on your driving record and will be dismissed if all terms required are successfully met. If any requirements are not met and you cannot provide a satisfactory reason why at the hearing before a judge, you will be found guilty and a conviction will be reported to the Texas Department of Public Safety.
Requirements to Request a Driving Safety Course:
- The court must receive your request for DSC via Certified Mail or in person to take the course no later than your appearance date. If mailed, the request must be postmarked on or before court due date.
- You must pay the court costs and an administrative fee. Presently, the administrative fee and court costs total $114. 00. If your citation was the result of speeding in a school zone the administrative fee and court cost total $139.00. The fine amount will be waved upon proof of DSC completion.
- You must present a copy of a current Class C Texas driver’s license.
- You must present current proof of insurance showing your name as an insured driver.
Terms and Procedure:
If eligible and the above have been received, you will be required to submit to the court within 90 days:
- The uniform certificate from an approved Texas Education Agency driving safety course.
- A certified copy of your driving record from the Texas Department of Public Safety A copy of your Driving Record must be requested from the Texas Department of Public Safety and costs $10.00 by mail. *This form can be printed and mailed to the DPS: Driving Record Request (pdf) or an online request can be made at:http://txapps.texas.gov/tolapp/txldrcdr/TXDPSLicenseeManager and the cost is $12.00.
- If processed by mail, a notarized affidavit that will be mailed to you along with the date you are required to submit the uniform certificate and your driving record.
You are not eligible to take a Driving Safety Course if:
- Offense is not defined as a moving violation; or
- You have a commercial driver’s license (CDL) even if the violation occurred while you were driving a private vehicle; or
- You do not have a valid Texas driver’s license; or
- You received a ticket for not having current vehicle liability insurance and you do not provide a copy of current vehicle liability insurance; or
- You were speeding 25 miles per hour or more over the speed limit; or
- You were speeding 15 miles per hour or more over the speed limit in a commercial vehicle; or
- You received your ticket as a result of Reckless Driving; or
- You received your ticket as a result of Passing a School Bus; or
- You received your ticket as a result of Fleeing/Eluding a Peace Officer; or
- You received your ticket as a result of Leaving the Scene of an Accident; or
- You received your ticket as a result of Fail to ID/ Render Aid; or
- You have been approved for a Driving Safety Class in the State of Texas within the last 12 months; or
- You have warrant(s) for your arrest
If you are not eligible for a Driving Safety Course you must enter your plea in person or by mail. If you enter your plea by mail you must use the form on the bottom of the citation or write a letter including your plea and request.
Failure to Comply With Terms of Agreement
If you fail to comply with any of the requirements of the Driving Safety Course option, your case will be set for a Show Cause hearing. The hearing is your opportunity to speak with a judge regarding why you failed to comply. If the judge does not find a valid reason, the remaining fine amount is due upon appearance at the Show Cause hearing. If you fail to appear at your hearing, a conviction will be entered and reported to the Texas Department of Public Safety and a Capias Pro-fine warrant will be issued for your arrest.